Nine Inch Nails Dropped Two Surprise Albums This Morning

Earlier today Trent Reznor unveiled two new Nine Inch Nails albums for our quarantine listening pleasure. Between the two, Ghosts V: Together and Ghosts VI: Locusts feature 23 new instrumental tracks.

Check out two of the new tracks below (the full albums are posted on the NIN YouTube account). Or download both albums for free here.

According to Consequence of Sound, Reznor explained that he and Atticus Ross burned the midnight oil to complete the records as a way of staying sane while dealing with the strange times we've all found ourselves living in, and that they hope sharing them now will help people feel connected.

This is Trent Reznor's full statement on the new music:

As the news seems to turn even more grim by the hour, we’ve found ourselves vacillating wildly between feeling like there may be hope at times to utter despair — often changing minute to minute. Although each of us define ourselves as antisocial-types who prefer being on our own, the situation has really made us appreciation the power and need for connection.
Music — whether listening to it, thinking about it or creating it — has always been the thing that helped us get through anything — good or bad. With that in mind, we decided to burn the midnight oil and complete these newGhostsrecords as a means of staying somewhat sane.
Ghosts V: Togetheris for when things seem like it might all be okay, andGhosts VI: Locusts… well, you’ll figure it out.”
It made us feel better to make these and it feels good to share them. Music has always had a way of making us feel a little less alone in the world… and hopefully it does for you, too. Remember, everyone is in this thing together and this too shall pass.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Be smart and safe and take care of each other’
With love,
Trent & Atticus

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

Radio 94.9 · Colorado's Finest Rock
Listen Now on iHeartRadio